LOVE

 THE VALUE OF SPARROWS
Writings of a Christian Mystic
HOME
BLOG
ABOUT ME
MY WRITING
MYSTICISM
POETRY
PRAYERS
SATURDAY READING
SERMONS
CONTACT
Abba
All God’s Angels
Come Creator Spirit
The Glorious Pursuit
Good Goats
Meeting Christ In His Mysteries
Music As Prayer
Psalms (Bonhoeffer)
POETRY: A Letter, by Wendell Berry
Posted on June 14, 2017

(to Ed McClanahan)

Dear Ed,
I dreamed that you and I were sent to Hell.
The place we went to was not fiery
or cold, was not Dante’s Hell or Milton’s,
but was, even so, as true a Hell as any.
It was a place unalterably public
in which crowds of people were rushing
in weary frenzy this way and that,
as when classes change in a university
or at quitting time in a city street,
except that this place was wider far
than we could see, and the crowd as large
as the place. In that crowd every one
was alone. Every one was hurrying.
Nobody was sitting down. Nobody
was standing around. All were rushing
so uniformly in every direction, so
uniformly frantic, that to average them
would have stood them still. It was a place
deeply disturbed. We thought, you and I,
that we might get across and come out
on the other side, if we stayed together,
only if we stayed together. The other side
would be a clear day in a place we would know.
We joined hands and hurried along,
snatching each other through small openings
in the throng. But the place was full
of dire distractions, dire satisfactions.
We were torn apart, and I found you
breakfasting upon a huge fried egg.
I snatched you away: “Ed! Come on!”
And then, still susceptible, I met
a lady whose luster no hell could dim.
She took all my thought. But then,
in the midst of my delight, my fear
returned: “Oh! Damn it all! Where’s Ed?”
I fled, searching, and found you again.
We went on together. How this ended
I do not know. I woke before it could end.
But, old friend, I want to tell you
how fine it was, what a durable
nucleus of joy it gave my fright
to force that horrid way with you, how
heavenly, let us say, in spite of Hell.

P.S.
Do you want to know why
you were distracted by an egg, and I
by a beautiful lady? That’s Hell.

Share this:
Click to Press This! (Opens in new window)Share on Facebook (Opens in new window)Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Google+ (Opens in new window)1Click to share on Pinterest (Opens in new window)1Click to share on Tumblr (Opens in new window)Click to share on Reddit (Opens in new window)Click to share on LinkedIn (Opens in new window)Click to email (Opens in new window)Click to print (Opens in new window)

Related
HELL: Something Good About Hell, by Jon M. Sweeney
In “Benedict XVI”
SERMON: On The Apostles’ Creed, by Thomas Aquinas
In “Death”
SERMON: Heaven And Hell — It Is a Matter of the Heart, by C. S. Song
In “Heaven”
Christianity
God
hell
poetry
Religion
Wendell Berry
← Previous article
Leave a Reply

Enter your comment here…
The last judgment


Social places

View thevalueofsparrows’s profile on FacebookView godwizard’s profile on TwitterView juliamarks’s profile on PinterestView 117996498805678367384’s profile on Google+
Search here


To search, type and hit enter
You are following this blog

You are following this blog (manage).
 Finding Solace

Observations And Experiments
Observations 1. Trout seem to learn that danger Is associated with artificial flies; Perhaps it is the hook in them. 2. I once saw a frog attacked And turned over by my dog And it lay quite still on its back. I am positive it made quite A separate movement to put Its front feet […]
Eagle Poem
To pray you open your whole self To sky, to earth, to sun, to moon To one whole voice that is you. And know there is more That you can’t see, can’t hear; Can’t know except in moments Steadily growing, and in languages That aren’t always sound but other Circles of motion. Like eagle that […]
Crow’s Theology
Crow realized God loved him— Otherwise, he would have dropped dead. So that was proved. Crow reclined, marveling, on his heart-beat. And he realized that God spoke Crow— Just exiting was His revelation. But what Loved the stones and spoke stone? They seemed to exist too. And what spoke that strange silence After his clamor […]
Fire Dance
(by Linda Barton) Bhutan, November 2000 The young boy Maybe seven grabbed my hand In the dark Held it tight Tighter than I have ever been held He led me through a small gate We were crushed and I worried for him His size I wondered why me He wanted something from me Not what […]
Sacred Space
Defilement When I first thought about this subject matter I couldn’t really get a hold of it. Isn’t every space that exists a sacred space? Hasn’t God created everything, making it so? And then when I sat down to think about it some more, an image came to me. And it led me to see […]
Categories

Categories
Archives

Archives
Most liked posts & pages


Created by Bluebaby48










Almsgiving


ALMSGIVING: The More You Give Of Yourself, The More You Find Of Yourself by Azim Jamal & Harvey McKinneon
From The Power of Giving “A rich life,” writes philosopher and theologian Cornel West, “consists fundamentally of serving others, […]
Fidelity


MYSTICISM: The Lord’s Fidelity To The Soul by Gertrude of Helfta
From The Herald of Divine Love Injuries inflicted by a friend are usually harder to bear than those inflicted by an enemy, as the psalm has it: “If my enemy had reviled me, I would verily have […]
Joy


SERMON: From Sorrow To Joy, by Charles Spurgeon
Your sorrow shall be turned into joy. (John 16:20) Our Lord was very honest with his followers when any enlisted beneath his banner. He did not profess that they would find an easy service if they took him to be their leader. Over and over again he […]
Perseverence


PERSEVERANCE: The Stars In The Sky, a story
Adapted from Carolyn Sherwin Bailey, Kate Douglas Wiggin, and Nora Archibald Smith Once upon a time there was a little lass who wanted nothing more than to touch the stars in the sky. On clear, moonless nights she would lean out her bedroom […]
Copyright © 2017 WordPress.com.
Following
Skip to toolbar
My Sites
SWITCH SITE

DAZZLED
bestofnatureblog.wordpress.com
Stats
Plan
Free
Publish
Blog Posts
Add
Pages
Add
Media
Add
Portfolio
Add
Personalize
Themes
Customize
Configure
Sharing
People
Add
Plugins
Domains
Add
Settings
Reader
Streams
Followed Sites
Manage
Discover
Search
Recommendations
My Likes



DAZZLED
@bestofnatureblog
Sign Out
Profile
My Profile
Account Settings
Manage Purchases
Security
Notifications
Special
Get Apps
Next Steps
Help
Write
Log Out

Add your thoughts here… (optional)
Post to  Cancel Reblog Post

