Through-my-eyes 

Through the years, I’ve tried to follow advice. It’s not always been easy. As Human being we want our actions rewarded…maybe not with money, or things, but a thank you. Even than, our reward comes when we meet our maker. I’ve spent most of my life trying like everyone else who walks this planet, trying to do good. Failing at each turn…but never giving up. Sometimes, the only thing I can afford is a hello and a smile. Sometimes, that’s all that’s needed.

We take care of our loved ones, spouses, children, parents, and friends. we do things when they can’t. when they’re sick, away on trips, vacations, or just because. Taking flowers to a friend, buying an extra bag of chocolates, or giving of your time, when you know you have a million things to do. Time is something we can never get back once it’s given. And as you hand over or sweep the driveway to someone’s who’s sick or tired…the feeling in your heart is like a drug. Satisfying, gratifying, energizing and grateful that you can do these things…because one day, maybe you won’t be able too.

There is a huge difference between buying stuff that you feel (or are) obligated to, and intentionally (and cheerfully) giving something to another person. Giving from the heart.

“The purpose of life is not to be happy. It is to be useful, to be honorable, to be compassionate, to have it make some difference that you have lived and lived well.” “No one has ever become poor by giving.”
Anne Frank.
Sometimes, people are afraid…feeling obligated, or what do they want from me for all this…for the swept driveway, to the flowers or the gift, all just given for, given for no reason at all. Other than love, caring, maybe we thought you needed a bottle of soap in the bathroom to washing your hands…maybe you needed some cleaning supplies…or maybe we remembered that you liked choclate candy, so we bought an extra bag to share…or flowers to bring a little cheer to an empty house that is in short supply of beauty and flowers add beauty to any corner, or place.

We live in a world that is basically, what’s in it for me? People are so used to buying things, people, sex, affection, friendships, lovers, we buy our kids good behavior, we buy things to keep people around us….So, when someone actually give them something without any strings attached, they are automatically suspicious. What do they want? And they spend days months maybe even years waiting for the giver to say, “You owe me.”

I don’t love easily..I don’t give easily, to anyone. In recent years in trying to adopt a more postive attitude, to spread a little kindess, cheer..I’ve started smiling at people, ..to say hello to strangers at the grocery store. It doesen’t cost Anything, but it takes a little confidence, courage, and facial muscles. What we give, we get back. Karma. Good, bad..indifference, it’s all returned in kind. One of my favorite quotes by one of my hero’s….”We make a living by what we get, But we make a life by what we give.” Winston Churchill

People play games with things…money, Wills. If you don’t behave, if you don’t this or that, you won’t get this, or I’ll take you out of the Will…if, if….conditions, bribes, ultimatums. Giving is something that comes even when people treat you badly, disappoint you, dishonor you, betray you…you give forgivness, maybe even try to understand. Like love, it comes from the heart.

Life is short…too many things to distract us. We travel this way just once…we love, and die. What we leave behind is how we will be remembered. I wish to live goodness where I didn’t always find it for myself. I wish to give because there have been times I’ve not received. Sometimes, all I can afford is heart full of love. And I’m really sorry you don’t or haven’t seen that.

